NoriNoir Bakery & more

Sweets are science, and also music….

Chiffon Cake w/ Strawberry & Raspberry on Whipped Cream

IMG_7060

I believe that Chiffon cake is one of most favorite cakes in Japan. Many Japanese like light texture on cakes and foods.

Chiffon cake has the texture really light, even your grandma, grandpa can eat without problem.

I fell in love when I had a piece of chiffon cake in a café in Osaka, I still remember where was, it was almost 20 years ago. I have no idea if the café is still there.  It was just so simple. A slice of chiffon cake covered with simple light whipped cream.

Many years later, I tried baking a chiffon cake in a Teffal silicon Kouglof mold when I was in France. It looked fine when the cake came out from the oven, but when I put it upside down to let cool down, oops, it just came out from the mold and fell on the counter. Second time. I used Kaiser metal Gugelhupf mold(same shape as Kouglof, there are so many different spelling) in Germany, same thing happened. Those mold, you don’t even need to put butter nor flour before you pour the cake batter, as they are made as “easy to come out from the mold”.

I needed a chiffon cake mold. I couldn’t find a chiffon cake mold in Europe, so I bought one when I went to Japan two years ago. Now in the US, we can find the mold as “Angel food cake” mold.

Chiffon Cake   w/ Strawberry & Raspberry on Whipped Cream  

<ingredients for 18 cm (7 inch) chiffon mold (angel food cake mold, no teflon)>

  • 4 Eggs (separate the yolk and white)
  • 45 g Vegetable oil (1/4 cup)
  • 60g Milk (1/3 cup)
  • 70g All-purpose Flour (2/3 cup)
  • 60g Sugar  (1/3 cup)
  • 250g Whipping Cream (1 cup)
  • 25g Sugar (2 tbsp.)
  • Strawberries, Raspberries
  • 1 tbsp. sugar

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 170C. (355˚F)
  • In a large bowl, put the egg yolks, add the vegetable oil slowly like making mayonnaise, mix with a whipper by hand.
  • Warm up the milk, (lukewarm) add in the yolk mixture, mix.
  • Sift the flour, add in the bowl at once, mix.
  • In a separate mixing bowl, put the egg whites, whip, adding the sugar in 3 times. Whip like making hard and heavy meringue.
  • Add 1/4 whipped egg whites into the yolk mixture, mix well.
  • Add another 1/4 egg whites and mix, repeat the same operation until all are mix together.
  •  Pour into the mold, bake for about 25 – 30 minutes.
  • After take it out from the oven, let it cool down completely upside down. Otherwise the dough will sink.

IMG_7054

  • When the cake is completely cooled down, take it out from the mold very very gently.
  • Clean the berries and mix gently with the 1 tbsp. sugar, let it marinate while preparing the whipped cream.
  • Whip the cream with 25g sugar, not too hard, the cream is whipped but smooth.
  • Put the cream around the cake, decorate with the berries.
  • Keep in the fridge until you serve.

IMG_7063

Well, after I fell love in that chiffon cake, did I ever go back to the same café?

– no.

I was young, I always liked to discover some new things and tastes. I was a student, there was a small limit in my wallet, too.

I will try to go find the same café next month, hopefully the chiffon cake.

Funny thing, I try to go back to find the good memories there rather than discovering new things.

I might be the turning point of my life.

IMG_7073

IMG_7068

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2013 by in Baking, Breakfast, Cake, Cream, Dessert, Egg, Fruits, Recipes, Strawberry.